DEVOTIONAL:

STEP OUT WITH ME
Matthew 6

 

snow-trees

 

 

 

If you feel like your prayer life is stagnant or dry, step out with me. I challenge you to change your routine and try something that may even seem odd.

A lot of the times when I feel like I don’t know what to pray about, I aimlessly stare around until the prayer is over, or I get up off my knees in defeat. However, Jesus later on in Matthew 6 introduces the, “Model Prayer” a solution and a template of how we should pray. While I certainly think it is fruitful to pray the prayer word for word, it is important to consider the concepts contained within the prayer.

 

“Our Father in heaven,

hallowed be your name,

your kingdom come,

your will be done,

on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us today our daily bread.

And forgive us our debts,

as we also have forgiven our debtors.

And lead us not into temptation,

but deliver us from the evil one.”

 

Each line in this prayer holds a specific purpose and special meaning, but to repeat it over and over again would only add more repetition. Rather, it is a template on how we should base our prayer, and view our Father to whom we cry out. It is a reminder to recognize that we depend on God. That his strength is enough to carry us through the fight, and so much more.

 

It is a reminder to recognize that we depend on God.

 

The next time you are in your secret place, imagine sitting next to or across from your Father. Literally imagine you are having a conversation with Him. Tell Him the struggles and fears weighing on your heart. I cannot begin to describe how deeply intimate my prayers became when I realized that God really is right next to me. Sometimes just knowing He is near wasn’t enough, but when I visualized my prayer with Him, my prayer changed dramatically.

Initially, it felt silly and kind of awkward at the beginning, but my prayer took on an intimate role in my life that I could not find anywhere else but in secret. It turned my words away from vain repetition to the honest feelings and struggles on my heart. So I challenge you, take a step of faith, and start talking with God.

