IMMANUEL, GOD WITH US

 

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I called you by name; you are mine.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you.” Isaiah 43:1-2 (NLT)

 

 

24_ADVENT_Wide.jpg

 

If I’ve learned one thing growing up in the Pentecostal church, it’s that Pentecostals love to pray LOUD. And because they love to pray loud, it’s hard to not listen to people’s prayers sometimes.

Throughout the years, the one prayer that always broke my heart was hearing people pray prayers that sounded like this, “God, don’t let me go! God, don’t leave me! God please! God, don’t leave me!” All the while weeping and crying uncontrollably. You can feel the heartache in those prayers… You can feel the pain in those prayers… But you can also feel the insecurity in those prayers.

When we find ourselves going through the waters (whether it’s trials, fear, failure, etc.), there is a temptation to think that God is not near but the truth is, God has never been closer… When Jesus came into the world 2,000 years ago, He didn’t just visit us to abandon us. In fact, He lived among us, died as us, and sent His Spirit to live in us.

No matter how you feel or what you’re going through today, don’t forget that His name is “IMMANUEL, which means GOD WITH US” Matthew 1:23 (NLT). Acknowledge Him & thank Him throughout your day today.

I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:20b (NLT)

