WHAT’S IN A NAME?

ADVENT-22-01.jpg

 

“Come, I will send you to Pharaoh that you may bring my people,
the children of Israel, out of Egypt.”
Exodus 3:10

Moses encounters God on the mountain Horeb.
God tells him how HE will rescue and redeem an entire people from the captivity and bondage of Egypt. Against an impossible enemy and all odds, Moses reluctantly accepts and voices his concern. What if they ask me who sent me?

 

“…and if they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?
God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.”
Exodus 3:13-14

Timeless, eternal,  everlasting. This is our King. This is our God. God doesn’t answer with just a name. He doesn’t answer with a show of force and might. He answers with WHO HE IS. God is our ETERNAL and EVERLASTING King who has no beginning and no end, who has no rival. He is the I AM who sits outside of time. This same God who rescued Israel out of Egypt is the same God who rescues us out of our sin. God is ETERNAL and never changing. This God entered the frailty of time and took on flesh so that He would carry a cross which would rescue and redeem us from our sin and rebellion. There is one message for Advent. One purpose in celebration:

OUR EVERLASTING came into this world to rescue and redeem.

 

He said to me: “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life.”
Revelation 21:6

 

Timeless, eternal,  everlasting.
This is our King.

