A PRAYER

ADVENT-21.jpg

 

“For he grew up before him like a young plant,
and like a root out of dry ground;
he had no form or majesty that we should look at him,
and no beauty that we should desire him.”
Isaiah 53:2

 

Oh God, my mind cannot grasp the fullness of Your words! You speak to me of a King who will sprout up from dry ground…but how can a King be born from a broken family and unto a woman who has no root in her marriage? You speak of a man who will be despised and acquainted with grief and yet he will love us so much that he would be willing to offer himself as a sacrifice for us? What is this grace that most people around me are not familiar with?

 

“Yet it was the will of the LORD to crush him;
he has put him to grief.”
Isaiah 53:10

 

Who is this man of sorrows, afflicted and smitten by God who will deliver us? It should be years before this will ever happen! Hear my prayer, Oh God, for I am weak in my understanding and open my mind to understand and grasp this profound message. Can a man really be addressed as Majesty, and yet be oppressed and afflicted, accused of deceit and violence…and still be willing to carry the sins of his people?

 

“Out of the anguish of his soul he shall see and be satisfied; by his knowledge shall the righteous one, my servant, make many to be accounted righteous,
and he shall bear their iniquities.”
Isaiah 53:11

 

Lord, Your will always prospers. I cannot grasp the paradox of a man born unto a broken family, referred to as Majesty, yet accused of deceit and oppressed by his people and still offer his own life for his accusers. To love the sinners and die so they may be made righteous by his sacrificial death. I trust in Your word though I cannot understand it now. Help me have the words to deliver your message unto the people you have called me to…and give me the words to speak of this King of grace that will root out of dry ground..

